NCAA Division III
Men's Tennis Championships

Hosted by Washington and Lee University
May 16-21, 1997 - Lexington, Va.
For questions about the championships e-Mail Brian Logue

Team Championship

All-Time Champions


Latest News - May 21

Schedule for May 21
Singles Final - Polla Wins NCAA Title
Doubles Final - Cal Lutheran Wins Doubles Title

Complete Results for May 20
Complete Singles results from May 19
Complete Doubles results from May 19
May 18 Results
Championship Match: Washington College 4, Kalamazoo 2
Third Place: Williams 4, Gustavus Adolphus 0
5th place: Redlands 4, UC-Santa Cruz 2
7th place: Emory 4, Amherst 2
Semifinals - May 17
Washington College 4, Gustavus Adolphus 0
Kalamazoo 4, Williams 2

Consolation Semifinals, May 17
UC-Santa Cruz 4, Amherst 2
Redlands 4, Emory 1

Quarterfinals - May 16
Gustavus Adolphus 4, UC-Santa Cruz 1
Washington College 4, Amherst 1
Kalamazoo 4, Redlands 0
Williams 4, Emory 1

Tournament Field is Set
Washington and Lee will serve as the host for the 1997 NCAA Division III Men's tennis championships from May 16-21. The tournament will be held at W&L's 14-court outdoor complex and the inclement weather site will be W&L's new indoor facility, the Duchossois Tennis Center, located on campus.

This is the third time that W&L has hosted the NCAA championships. The first time was in 1985 when the Generals placed eighth in the championships. W&L served as the host site again in 1988 and made it memorable, beating Cal-Santa Cruz 5-4 in the championship match to win the school's first national championship. W&L was the Division III runner up in 1986 and 1987.

The tournament begins on May 16 with the quarterfinal round of the team championship. The national title match is scheduled for May 18 with the individual singles and doubles championships to begin on May 19.

The eight teams competing for the national title will be determined by four regionals taking place the weekend of May 9-11. The top two teams from each regional will advance to Lexington for the nationals.