Trident Washington and Lee AthleticsUndergraduate AdmissionsAlumniNews OfficeW&L Home
Game Recaps
Athletics Home Athletic Teams Facilities Hall of Fame Sports Releases Contact Sports Information Directions Physical Education Staff Directory Club Sports

Date: May 31, 2005
Contact: Brian Laubscher (540) 458-8676
Release: Upon Receipt

Senior Women's Tennis Player Among 12 Nominees for the Award

Senior Lindsay Hagerman

SOLANA BEACH, Calif. -- Washington and Lee senior women's tennis player Lindsay Hagerman (Dallas, Texas/Highland Park) is one of 12 nominees for the Honda Collegiate Women Sports Award presented to the Division III Female Athlete of the Year.

The nomination carries a $1,000 donation by American Honda Motor Co. to the University's women's athletic fund. Honda will also donate $5,000 to the school of the Division III Collegiate Woman of the Year recipient. The award winner will be announced at a press conference held on June 29 at the Low Library on the campus of Columbia University in New York, N.Y.

Hagerman is a four-year letterwinner and team captain of the W&L women's tennis team which finished as the runner-up at the NCAA Division III Championships. She won the NCAA Division III Singles Championship and was named the ITA National Senior Player of the Year. The runner-up for the NCAA Walter Byers Scholarship and a recipient of the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, she finished her career as the W&L all-time leader in singles (117-17) and doubles (108-18) victories. She has earned All-America honors seven times during her career and is a two-time ODAC Player of the Year and ODAC Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Most recently, Hagerman received the ODAC's Majorie Berkley Award as the conference's top female scholar-athlete.

Thus far, 10 of the 12 nominees have been determined and they include: Sarah Bulka of SUNY-Brockport (gymnastics), Missy Buttry of Wartburg (cross country), Danae Chambers of Messiah (field hockey), Carli Dale of Juniata (volleyball), Lauren Dougher of The College of New Jersey (lacrosse), Jessica Elsen of Wheaton (Ill.) (soccer), Marie Marsman of Carleton (swimming), Amanda Nechuta of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (basketball), Charlotte Williams of Methodist (golf) and Hagerman (tennis).

The Honda Award has been presented every year since 1987 to the top athlete in Divisions II and III. Last year's Division III recipient was Emory University tennis player Mary Ellen Gordon.


Contact: Brian Laubscher
Sports Information Director
PO Drawer 928
Lexington, VA 24450
Phone: 540-458-8676