LEXINGTON, Va. -- Freshman midfielder Lee Wheeler (Baltimore, Md./Bryn Mawr) scored four goals to lead top-seeded Washington and Lee to a 6-2 win over third-seeded Lynchburg in the finals of the ODAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament on Sunday afternoon.

The win gives W&L, ranked 16th in Division III, an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament and broke the school record for wins in a season with 15. The previous record was set in 1993 when the Generals went 14-3, won the ODAC title and made their first trip to the NCAA Tournament.

The Generals began the scoring at the 17:11 mark of the opening half as senior attacker Liz Borges (Winchester, Mass./Winchester) found the net, beating Hornet goalie Jen McHugh (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright). Wheeler then scored a pair of goals to give W&L a 3-0 lead with 9:38 remaining before the intermission. Lynchburg got on the board at the 5:52 mark as sophomore attacker Linda Jack (Riva, Md./South River) scored an unassisted goal. Wheeler then increased the W&L lead to 4-1 at the half with an unassisted goal at the 1:32 mark.

The Hornets struck first in the second stanza as senior attacker Laurie Ward (Ellicott City, Md./Mount de Sales Academy) scored unassisted at the 21:00 mark. The Generals would add a couple more goals, one by Wheeler and one by Borges, while holding LC scoreless the rest of the way to post the win.

Senior attacker Ellen Ritsch (Richmond, Va./Collegiate) assisted on the final goal by Borges. Freshman Joanna Perini (Huntington, N.Y./Huntington) stopped five shots in goal for the Generals. McHugh posted nine saves in net for the Hornets.

For the game, W&L outshot Lynchburg by an 18-10 count.

The Generals will be in action again on Saturday as they host Division II Limestone for an 11:30 am contest.

W&L - Lee Wheeler (4 goals), Liz Borges (2 goals), Ellen Ritsch (1 assist).

LC - Laurie Ward (1 goal), Linda Jack (1 goal).

W&L - Joanna Perini, 5 Saves, 2 GA, 60 Min.
LC - Jen McHugh, 9 Saves, 6 GA, 60 Min.

2001 All Tournament Team
Lynchburg: Lindsay Caruso, Lauren Hedden, Jen McHugh, Laurie Ward

Randolph-Macon: Alice Collins, Erin Riedy

Roanoke: Sarah Tengwall, Kylie Wernert

Washington and Lee: Liz Borges, Joanna Perini, Eloise Priest, Lee Wheeler


Lacrosse Championship Site